Four Seconds to Lose by K.A Tucker

17571140What it’s about:

Twenty-nine-year-old strip club owner, Cain is tired. He’s worked hard to maintain a classy club and keep the girls who work for him safe. He also has a strict no-dating-the-dancers rule. But when Charlie Rourke walks through his door, he finds himself wanting to break his own rules.

But as Charlie’s secrets start chasing her, both Charlie and Cain find themselves making some hard decisions. Can Cain accept the real Charlie and will she let him into her past?

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“His lips steal my breath completely, kissing me with demanding thirst, as if he’s been waiting forever to do this and he’ll be waiting forever to do it again.”

What a fantastic book this was, really I couldn’t put it down. From the beginning I fell in love with Cain and Charlie and I felt myself experiencing all the extreme emotion along with them. K.A Tucker has once again proved to be a phenomenal storyteller with an amazing ability to surprise me. I really didn’t see this story unfolding the way is did and I loved every heart-wrenching moment of it.

When I first saw that this book was about Cain I had no idea what to expect. I was so stolen my Kacey and Livie’s stories that I wasn’t sure what to make of being thrown into a completely unattached character. But I have to say that I loved Cain’s world, and when I wasn’t reading (because apparently sleep is important) I found myself dreaming about him.

Charlie’s world destroyed me a bit, I couldn’t believe how screwed up she was by her parents and I just wanted her to kill her stepdad. I felt for her and wanted Cain to swoop in and save the day. I really like how Tucker manages to keep her stories realistic with real-world scenarios. This gave the story an extra level and made it all the more emotional.

It was also great to get more of the other characters in Penny’s and I must say I’m really excited to read about Ben and Nate.

Leave a Reply

