Hero by Samantha Young

23355069What it’s about:

Alexa Holland was living a life she loved until her father revealed a secret from his past, a secret that destroyed the life of Caine Carraway. But Caine didn’t let his ruined childhood stop him from becoming a billionaire. Now Caine and Alexa’s paths cross and there’s a connection they can’t deny, even as Caine insists on pushing Alexa away. After a rocky start and some time they’ll meet in the middle, but can Caine be the hero Alexa is looking for?

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“Ungentlemanliness?” he teased. “I dare you to say that five times fast.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, Samantha Young has created another great story with more great characters. Caine is a tough, arrogant businessman and Alexa is a girl with goals, and their lives intersect in the most terrible way. I loved the way Young built the characters stories and how she gave us little pieces throughout the book. She even managed to sneak in a “wow” moment towards the end, then again I wouldn’t expect anything less from Young.

At the beginning I found Lexi and Caine’s relationship felt a little like…dare I say it… Fifty Shades (with great writing, non-annoying characters and a male lead that’s not a psychopath). But as the story progresses, Lexi and Caine’s relationship becomes something beautiful and you can’t help but love them together. I could have killed Lexi for wanting to keep things on the DL, but I get why she needed that. Caine is just amazing. I loved that he was a completely flawed character and that he embarrassed the arrogance. Lexi made me laugh, really there were parts where I would chuckle and shake my head at her silliness.

I love a book that can make me feel so intensely. There were parts where I laughed out loud and other parts where I felt like my heart would shatter at any moment. I really felt for Lexi, I could actually feel her loanlyness coming off the page and at times it really took me to my knees. But as always, this was just such a great read. I couldn’t put it down and Young made me fall in love with all the characters, including the awesome side characters. I really hope she turns this into a series.

Leave a Reply

