Echoes of Scotland Street by Samantha Young

On Dublin Street #5

20617402What it’s about:

Shannon MacLeod has always gone for the wrong type of man. After she drifted from one toxic relationship to the next, her last boyfriend gave her a wakeup call in the worst possible way. With her world shattered, she’s sworn off men—especially those of the bad-boy variety.

Cole Walker is exactly the sort that Shannon wants to avoid—gorgeous, tattooed, charming, and cocky. But his rough exterior hides a good man who’s ready to find “the one.” He’s determined to pull Shannon from her self-imposed solitude and win her heart.

As Shannon opens up in the face of Cole’s steady devotion, the passion between them ignites to blazing levels. But when Shannon’s past comes back to haunt her, her fears may destroy the trust Cole has built between them—and tear them apart for good… (via Goodreads)

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“As the old car took me away from Scotland Street amid his incessant chatter, I felt like fate had just handed me two cups and I’d stupidly drunk from the wrong one.”

One thing I’ve found true of Samantha Young is that her books never disappoint. It doesn’t matter what mood you’re in, you can pick up one of the books in this series and devour it. Going into this one I knew I was going to like Cole but wow, did I fall hard. I’ve loved this series from book one and I love how the series has developed just as much as the characters. This book felt a little bit like a different story from the others in the series. I don’t know if it’s because the Cole we meet in the earlier books is so young and shy, and this Cole is so amazingly not those things, or because we see so much less of the other characters and more of Cole’s friends. Either way, I really enjoyed the new perspective of the story.

Shannon is a really interesting character, I liked her and yet at times I wanted to strangle her for being a stupid head! I do find it so interesting that this book is technically “Cole’s book” yet it’s from Shannon’s POV. I loved that aspect of it though, we get to see Cole from the perspective of someone out of his family, while still seeing the Cole we know and love. I can’t describe how intensely this book makes you feel, I wanted Cole so badly and every time Shannon pushed him away my instinct was to slap her. He’s such a well thought out character and it’s always great getting to see the other side of a character you’ve met before. I also loved how they met when they were younger and the way Shannon just knew her choice was wrong.

The side characters in this book also kept me hooked. I loved meeting the people Cole and Shannon work with and I’m excited to see more of them in other books. It was great to see the characters from the previous books all grow up with families. I liked seeing Hannah with kids as well, even though she was a bit different this time around I liked knowing that she got her HEA.

All in all, this book was a Smörgåsbord of awesomeness, every page drew me in and made me want to be a part of the story. I think this was definitely one of my favourite books of the series and I can’t believe Young has this many amazing men stuck in her head. I have no doubt that the next one is going to be just as awesome and I must have it now!

Leave a Reply

