Knight’s Prize by Glynnis Campbell

The Warrior Maids of Rivenloch #3

17230266What it’s about:

Miriel of Rivenloch may not have the killer instincts of her older sisters, but she’s keeping a dangerous secret. She knows more than she’s letting on about the mysterious Shadow, the forest outlaw who robs from the rich and gives to the poor. And when devil-may-care mercenary Sir Rand la Nuit, hot on the trail of The Shadow, claims to be in love with Miriel, she knows he’s hiding something, too. It’s a battle of wits as they race to uncover each other’s secrets before their make-believe romance takes on a life of its own. (Synopsis from Goodreads)

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I fear my hapless heart has been claimed,” he gushed, “by none other than the youngest daughter of Rivenloch… Lady Mirable.”

I just knew this book was going to be the best in the series! I just knew Miriel was going to have some pretty intriguing secrets (even if I already figured the main one out) and I just knew she was so much more than the docile maid from the previous books… but I never expected Rand or the truth about Sung Li to be so unbelievably awesome.

The start of this book had me is hysterics and I found I immediately loved both Miriel and Rand. Between the way her sisters reacted, Rand’s reaction to their interrogation and Miriel’s impulsive rebellion I couldn’t stop laughing. Then we get the first taste of the Miriel/Rand story, we discover that they are both brilliant at telling “stories” and that their banter has no filter. I loved that Miriel was so bold and that she was so good at hiding how very well she run EVERYONE. From the moment she picked up on Rand’s deception I knew she was brilliant, and every time they shared a secret lie I had a smile on my face.

I knew that there would be some interesting elements in this story because we were going to see more of Sung Li, but damn… I didn’t see that coming! I loved the addition of Chinese culture and martial arts in Miriel’s world and I had a secret smile on my face the whole book, waiting in anticipation to see what it would be like when her sisters realised she was more of a warrior than them.

This was such a great trilogy and I’m so sad there are no more sisters to read about. But this series was my first by Glynnis Campbell and I will definitely be reading more of her books. She’s a phenomenal writer with an exceptional talent for sucking you into the old world, and I can’t wait to see what else she has to offer.

Leave a Reply

