Lady Danger by Glynnis Campbell

The Warrior Maids of Rivenloch #1

17230260What it’s about:

Born to the blade and raised to fear no one, Deirdre of Rivenloch never shies away from a fight and never turns her back on a threat to her land or her family. But she’s never met a man like Sir Pagan Cameliard, the bold and powerful knight who comes at the king’s command to make a marriage alliance with Rivenloch. To save her younger sister, Deirdre tricks Pagan into marrying her instead, and now she faces a new kind of enemy who crosses swords with her by day and lays siege to her heart by night. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It was an alliance forged of the finest steel, tempered in the fires of adversity, and thus blessed by unrivalled strength.”

Oh glorious Historical Romance how I’ve missed you. I’ve been in the mood for this genre for ages and when I came across this book on Amazon (and it was free) I thought it wouldn’t hurt to give it a try… I just love these happy choices. This book is everything you could ever want from a HR, hot hunks, an exciting battle and feisty Scottish maids. I LOVED the concept of the Warrior Maids of Rivenloch, it brought such depth to the story and made you really want to be a woman in the 12th century – which, let’s face it, no one does.

Deirdre is the coolest, most kick-ass, incredible heroine EVER! From the moment you meet her you know she’s going to be trouble, and you can’t wait to see how much. The opening scene was hysterical and I found that I was immediately keen to see the conflict between Deirdre and Pagan begin. I liked the way Campbell grew the characters and how level headed Deirdre was. You get to experience both the respect and disrespect for women in this century, and I quite enjoyed seeing the men put in their place by a feisty blond. Pagan is an incredible character, I liked that he didn’t immediately accept Deirdre’s warrior side. I really enjoyed their banter and the way they both won each other’s hearts.

The side characters were so well written and brought more excitement and comedy to the story. I also love that Campbell sets up both Helena and Miriel’s stories, and while the “secret” are already being revealed I still think there will be some surprises along the way. This series has me hooked, and I cannot wait to read the next book and see how Helena and Colin end up together.

Leave a Reply

