Renegades Series by Skye Jordan

18590853 Book 2: Rebel

What it’s about:

Rubi Russo has it all — looks, money, confidence and freedom. Her life is a whirlwind of fast cars and fleeting affairs—and she likes it that way. With a past like Rubi’s, forever isn’t part of her vocabulary. So when studly Renegade stuntman Wes Lawson wants to take their friendship to the next level, she’s all out. Until he convinces her to open up… and then she’s all his.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“It’s easy to screw around with people you don’t care about. There’s nothing at stake. But playing that game with someone who fills a special place in your life? Someone who could leave a hole in your heart if he vanished? That’s a huge risk. Even more so to a woman who is extremely sensitive.”

I loved this book, every page had me on the edge of my seat and I found myself desperate to explore the life of Wes and Ruby. I think the concept of “friend with benefits” is one we all, at one stage of our lives, have considered. That moment when you realise you’re desperate for some intimate human contact and that friend you know so well would be perfect. For me, that friend became my husband, so I’m talking from experience when I say the leap is so worth it. For Wes and Ruby it was more of a shove and while Wes was all for it, Ruby needed to be pushed.

I liked the way Jordan played out this story, she made you root for Wes and had you ready to throw punches at Ruby’s father. Jordan really has an exceptional writing style and she knows just how to keep you coming back for more.

Book 3: Ricochet

22719097

What it’s about:

Rachel has been burned and she’s not looking for anything but good company in the form of an uncomplicated hookup. So when the mysterious Nathan seduces her, she drowns all her good sense in a Mandarin and soda and gives herself over to a night of sexual bliss. But when the door to Renegades trailer opens and Nathan walks in and gets introduce as the new explosives guy, Ryker, her world comes crashing down. They both have shaky past and want nothing more than an affair, but when the times comes… can they let go of each other?

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I don’t want complicated. I don’t want forever. I just want simple. No strings.”

This was by far the most emotional book in the series. Both Ryker and Rachel have some seriously dark issues and as they get to know each other and build their relationship, you find out that some things leave real internal scars.

I loved the way this story started. The meeting/ one-night-stand between Ryker and Rachel was incredible and knowing Ryker’s identity made it all that more scandalous. I found I couldn’t wait to get to their meeting at the Renegades trailer and I really enjoyed the way it played out.

There is so much greatness when it comes to these characters and I love that while we get to know the main couple, we get to see the other characters from previous books. They play a big role and I love that we’ll always get another taste of Jax.

I have to say the emotional side of this book kept my heart in a constant ache and on the opposite side, the sex was intense – and damn but there was a lot of it. I’m really hoping Jordan continues with this series and we get more of the Renegades stories. It felt like she was setting up for another story so we can only wait and hope. What I will say is that I’m following this series to the end, no matter how many books that is.

Leave a Reply

