Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire

18104607Beautiful #3

What it’s about:

The Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster phenomenon continues in the first heart-pounding book of the Maddox Brothers stories.

Fiercely independent Camille “Cami” Camlin is just trying to live her life – work, pass her classes, spend some time with her long distance boyfriend and avoid her family. But TJ, her boyfriend, can’t seem to find the time to spend with her, and when the sexy Trenton Maddox walks into the Red and starts talking to her, everything changes.  Cami finds herself pulled in two directions and the choice she makes could ruin more than just two men.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I was in trouble. Big, disastrous, Maddox trouble.”

So I know this book has had some mixed reviews and let’s face it, I wouldn’t expect any different from Jamie McGuire, her books always enlist very strong emotions. Personally, I fricken LOVED it. Everything about this book, from the characters to the mystery, drew me in and kept me wanting more.

I fell head-over-heels for Trent, I dare say I love him just a tiny bit more than Travis. I liked that he was more mature and that he wanted Cami from the start. I also liked that while he was more mature and less of a man whore, he still had that Maddox temper. There was still the element of over protectiveness to him that reminded me of Travis. Cami is a great character, she’s spunky and smart. I liked that she didn’t take Trent’s shit, and while there were times that I wanted to smack her for being stupid, in the end it all made sense.

It was also great to see the events of Beautiful Disaster from another POV, completely detached from the Travis and Abby story. I liked the outside look at their story and had to laugh at how funny it was from other people’s POV’s.

“Anything to do with the Maddoxes is never boring.”
This quote just says it all. The shock ending was just that – a huge shock. And while it took me by surprise and left me with mixed emotions about the story, I still thought it was great. I had to reread the last chapter just to make sure I wasn’t going mad, and then spent all night going through all the events in the book, trying to consolidate the twist with what people said as the story progressed. I actually think it made the story and if McGuire had any other ending the book would have fallen flat. It’s also made me super excited for the next on and one brother’s story in particular.

Leave a Reply

