Heart of a Highland Warrior by Anita Clenney

Book 3: Connor Clan Series

What it’s about:

Travis Connor is a fierce warrior tasked with killing demons and saving the world. His brother Faelan has been locked in a time vault and Travis isn’t going to leave him alone. He’s going after Faelan but when he gets woken up he  finds himself locked up, with no memory of who he is. Then Anne, one of the Connor Clan warriors, shows up looking for answers. As Travis and Anne get closer, they discover secrets that none of the warriors where expecting.

What I thought:11387209

My Rating: 4 Stars

After 3 years of waiting I finally got another taste of the Connor Clan – and damn did it taste good.

I really LOVE this series, everything about it is so captivating from the characters, to the story, to the amazing world. What initially drew me to the first book was the idea of classic highland warrior in the modern world, and it was really great to get that aspect of the story again.

I really only have two itsy-bitsy issues with this book. One was that Clenney doesn’t recap anything, so I found myself a little lost at time, I would definitely recommend you reread the first two if you want to feel as lost as Travis does. The second was that the romance was a little dulled, it wasn’t bad and I didn’t feel like the characters were mismatched, I just felt like there could have been more. Most the intimate interactions between Travis and Anne where short and at times a little dispassionate. But I still loved them.

I really enjoyed this story. I liked that Anne was a bit screwed up and tough, and Travis was just amazing. I liked the way the story played out and the twist that knocked my head back. It was a great ride and I really found myself red-eyed at 2am saying “just one more chapter”.

It was great to get reacquainted with all the other characters again but like said, I would have like a little bit more of a recap at times. I also felt like I should have read Angus: A Highland Warrior Brief first, although I think some key secrets are revealed in the short. Either way I’m definitely going to read it soon.

It really was so great to be sucked into this world again and to read about some hot highland hunks. I remember now why I loved Ronan so much and after this ending I cannot WAIT for the next book.

Dear Miss Clenney,

PLEASE WRITE FASTER!

Check out my review of book 1 and 2 here: Connor Clan Series Review

Leave a Reply

