Black Dagger Brotherhood books 1 – 3 by J.R. Ward

bdb 1-3

So this series has been on my radar for years and all my GR friends would gasp and shake their heads when I said I hadn’t read it yet. So to avoid any more humiliation I decided to finally pick it up, and all can I say is… Gasp! *Shakes head* How could I wait so long to read this series? And because I ploughed through the first 3 books in one weekend I decided to review them all together.

Book 1: Dark Lover

1226316What it’s about:

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a secret world of vampires and a deadly turf war is raging between the vampires and their slayers – the Lessers. Within vampire society there’s a secret band of brothers, six vampire warriors, defenders of their race –  The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Their leader is Wrath is ruthless and enjoys his job, he’s also the blind King – leader of the vampires race, but he’s not up for the job. He’s also not ready for the job of protector of a half-blood who doesn’t know she’s a vampire. But when his fellow brother is killed, Wrath has no choice but to protect Beth and usher her into the world of the undead – a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

Ward is an exceptional story teller drawing you in with a promise of a new world and amazing characters. I fell head over heels for all the boys and was captivated with the BDB world from page one. 

I LOVE Wrath. What an amazing character. Hard and strong but still loving and warm. I almost cried when he took care of his injured brothers and wanted to care for him when he risked everything to protect Beth. Ward created something amazing in him and I liked the way he grew over the course of the book. I love that he’s almost blind and yet still a warrior. It’s been a while since a character has grabbed me so fully and I loved every minute of it.

Beth is a great character. She’s strong and smart, I liked that she didn’t blindly believe everything Wrath said about vampires and needed real proof. I think she’s the right kind of soft for Wrath and yet strong enough to protect him. I’m excited to see how she comes across from the other brother’s POV.

Oooh, and speaking of the other brothers. Can we say YUM!? I love them all, even Z. I liked that they all have very different characters and secrets yet they all have a fierce love and devotion to the brotherhood and their fellow brothers. I’m super excited to read all their books and I can’t wait to see where the world will take me.

Book 2: Lover Eternal

152642What it’s about:

Rhage is the vampire with the strongest appetites. He’s the best fighter, the quickest to act on his impulses, and the most voracious lover, he also has a ferocious curse cast by the Scribe Virgin – a beast that he cannot control. When Mary Luce walks into the Brotherhood compound Rhage can’t take his hands off her. Mary has a curse of her own and with time running out, she’ll have to choose her final path, no matter where it leads her.

What I thought:

My Rating: 4 Stars

So I’m completely addicted to this series, I ploughed through the second and third books this weekend and started the fourth, all before I even had a chance to write my review. 

The world Ward has created is so rich with culture and is actually completely believable. I love the way the vampires integrate into the human world while still keeping their secret and how the Brotherhood watch over the civilians. Everything about this series is so captivating, from the characters to mystery. Ward unravels each story so well, while building the story for the next book at the same time. I love that the POV’s change, and even though I want to pull my hair out when she jumps to the POV of a lesser after an intense romantic moment, I love every minute of it. 

The only reason I gave this book 4 stars was because I didn’t love Mary. She kinda irritated me. I wanted to smack her whenever she got all woe-is-me and pushed Rhage away. I also thought she was really weak. When I read about Rhage in book one I couldn’t wait to read hi book because I thought he would get this kick ass female who would make him work for it. Instead what I got was a whiny human who didn’t appreciate Rhage’s personality and turned him into a whiny male. And because of this Rhage wasn’t as awesome as I thought he would be.

But overall the story was amazing and every taste of the Brothers is great. I got to see all the boys I love and enjoyed the story. 

Book 3: Lover Awakened

978074What it’s about:

A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society. Bella will free him of his pain and teach him what real love is – if he’ll let her.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I was dead until you found me, though I breathed. I was sightless, though I could see. And then you came…and I was awakened.”

I LOVED this book! Everything about this book was just amazing. Each character kept me captivated and every moment kept me on the edge of my seat.

I knew I was going to love Z from book one. He’s damaged but you could tell that he had a good heart. His story broke my heart and I really understood his need to push others away. I think he really healed a bit in this book and I think Bella was the perfect female from him. I loved that she was a vampire and understood his world. I think a human would have been to aggressive and just wouldn’t have understood his ways. Their relationship was so passionate even though it was clouded by Z’s past.

This story unravelled so well and the introduction of John was great. I’m so excited to see where his story goes because there are some serious mysteries around him, and I think they will be revealed in the most interesting way. 

Already on to the next book and loving it. This series is just so amazing and I’m enjoying devouring it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

