Allegiant by Veronica Roth

“I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.” – Tobias

17383918What it’s about:

In the final instalment of the Divergent series, Tris and her friends are eager to find out what’s outside the city and the truth behind the Edith Prior video. But what they find will shock them and make them question everything they’ve ever believed. When your world is torn away and you have to choose who you want to be, you finally find yourself.

What I thought:

My Rating: 4 Stars

This has to be the most difficult review I’ve ever had to write for several reasons:
1. I can’t stop crying.
2. There were parts of this book I found boring.
3. I’m actually not sure whether I liked it or not

***WARNING! MAY CONTAIN SLIGHT SPOILERS***
You need to know something before you start this book, it’s not what you expect at all. I suppose that’s one thing I love most about this series, after book one I couldn’t imagine where the second book would go and after book two I REALLY couldn’t figure out where the third book would go. It’s also raw and devastating and so much more serious than the other books. Roth holds nothing back and no matter how long you sit there thinking “this is just a book” or “they’ll open their eyes” it’s not and they don’t.

If I’m being completely honest I kinda hate Roth for making me fall so desperately in love with these characters, and then taking them away from me. That’s the problem really. When you read a series and become so deeply invested in their story and the world it hurts when you have no more to read, but it hurts even more when the ending is so intense that I felt like I was in physical pain, my blood seeping into the pages. But then I guess that was her intention and I cannot fault a writer for making me feel so intensely – it’s the reason I gave the book 4 stars instead of 3.

This book started off great, there was some action and excitement as the characters figure out how to approach the info they discovered and handled the backlash of exposing it. But then they leave the city and it just gets a bit stale. The mystery wasn’t that amazing and something I think we all could figure out. Their time in the compound becomes monotonous and I found myself craving the moments where Tris and Tobias were together, whether they fought or had passionate moments, it was really the only interesting thing about it. And then the action picks up again and everything happens so quickly.

What I really did love about the book was that the chapters switched between Tris and Tobias’ POV. It was so great to get insight into the story from Tobias’ POV, I really truly fell in love with him. He’s an incredible character, flawed, impulsive, sexy, compassionate and loving. I really liked that he wasn’t the “perfect” man. Tris in this book was just great. I really love how her character progresses and grows through the different books. I think she really did know who she was by the end of this book.

I loved Tris and Tobias’ relationship, I loved that they weren’t stupid. Yes, they fought (a lot) and they disagreed, Tris couldn’t even look at him at one point, but she thinks things through and realises the mature way to keep them together, and most importantly – that they are better together. I really love that Roth created a YA book without a damn love triangle.

At the end of the day there were things about the book that I loved and things I didn’t really enjoy. But I never put it down and had to know how it would end. I just wish she had ended it a little earlier, the last couple chapters really weren’t necessary.

Leave a Reply

