Insurgent by Veronica Roth

“Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.”

11735983What it’s about:

Book 2 in the Divergent series, this book follows on from the events of book 1. Tris and Tobias have managed to escape the city after destroying Erudite’s plans to kill all the Abnegation leaders but Erudite still has power and Dauntless is divided. Now war is looming as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become irrevocable — and even more powerful.

What I thought:

My rating: 5 Stars

5 incredibly enthusiastic stars! 

At this moment in time I shall take my hat off and bow to Miss Roth chanting “we’re not worth, we’re not worth!”, because that was the most incredible thing I’ve ever read. Action packed and full of information Insurgent took my breath away, from the unravelling of the truth, to the moment we realise that Roth has us so deeply sucked into the world that we cannot breath without it.

So much happened in this book but it wasn’t an overload of information and it didn’t happen too fast, squeezing everything in without thought – no, Roth builds the story so beautifully and I found myself going through the entire spectrum of emotions, my heart broke and then came alive again, I laughed and I cried. There were real moments of shock for me when I was reading, moments when I had to put the book down and absorb what I had just read, there were so many things I just didn’t see coming and even the ones I did rattled me once it was on paper.

Tris has got to be the most incredible, kick-ass, awesome character ever. I want her to be my friend just so a little of her courage and power will rub off on me. I love how her mind works and the way she thinks everything through. I thought it was great that Tris struggled with what happened to Will, personally I thought she should have told Four but I can understand why she didn’t. No matter what anyone thinks, Tris is Dauntless, through and through, and weakness isn’t something she wears on her sleeve.

I didn’t think I could fall so hard for a fictional character but Four/Tobias is so incredible how can you not love him? I found every moment he was there I felt safe and my entire body tingled with passion. It amazes me how Roth has managed to bring Four to life in such a tangible way. He’s an amazing character with real depth and strength. I like that he’s not perfect and he’s blinded by his need to be away from the life he left. His confession about his regrets broke my heart and I think eventually he’ll realised that he cannot regret it any more because it all brought him to Tris. I also love that he’s both funny and extremely loving and gentle all at the same time.

“Got that gun?” Peter says to Tobias. “No,” says Tobias, “I figured I would shoot the bullets out of my nostrils, so I left it upstairs.”

“Sleep,” he says. “I’ll fight the bad dreams off if they come to get you.” “With what?” “My bare hands, obviously.”

Tris and Tobias’ relationship was really incredible. I hate those teen angst stories where they start off all in love and then something ridiculous breaks them up, in this series the relationship gives so much to the story and both Tris and Tobias forgive each other and realise how powerful their relationship is. It’s great to read and makes you love the characters even more.

The side characters are so great in this series, they bring so much to the story and even though the book is from Tris’ perspective, you really get to know and love (or hate) all the characters. I’m amazed at how Christian has progressed through the books and the way Uriah and the other dauntless born initiates have accepted Tris.

I cannot find fault in this book because it’s pure greatness and I loved every second of it. Now it’s on to the last book with excitement and interest, because I cannot even begin to guess where this story will end.

2 thoughts on “Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

