Divergent by Veronica Roth

“Fear doesn’t shut you down, it wakes you up”

9859820Divergent Book 1

What it’s about:

Beatrice Prior lives in a world where your life is dictated by the personality traits you value, fearlessness, selflessness, honesty, intelligence and  peace. She’s lived her whole life in Abnegation the faction that values selflessness and now it’s time for her to make a choice – stay in her own faction or move on to another one and leave her family behind, luckily there is a test to help her decide. But when Beatrice takes the test she discovers that she doesn’t fit into one faction, she fits into several, she’s Divergent. Now Beatrice must choose her path and keep her secret at any cost, but when she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she realises that her secret might help her save those she loves.

What I thought:

My Rating: 4.5 Stars

So this book has been sitting on my to-read shelf for as long as I can remember and with the movie coming out in less than 2 weeks I decided that I should finally pick it up. Damn, am I kicking myself now. How could I wait so long to read something so amazing?!

This story keeps you captivated the whole way through and I really couldn’t put it down. From the moment you meet Tris you know that something great is going to happen because she’s such an amazing character. I loved that she had flaws but overcame everything she needed to, no matter how hard it was. I thought she was sassy and had a great ability to understand herself and act accordingly. Roth also wrote her so well you can’t fault her character, yes she’s strong and smart but she’s also a young girl from a very sheltered world and in the end that affects her fears. I liked that you can feel the change she goes through, from docile and ignorant to strong and smart.

Four is an incredible character! I fell in love with him from page one and I am so very happy with the way Roth chose to end this book. I loved that while you can guess Four’s motives you have that little bit of doubt about who he is and what he’s planning. He’s strong and yet still vulnerable which makes him all that more attractive.

All the side characters are so well designed, each brining something pivotal to the story and making you understand the world more. I liked that Roth wasn’t delicate with the world, she didn’t soften the blow or make the characters all sweet and enduring. In fact, even the characters you start to like end up being human when push comes to shove.

Like all Dystopia stories this one starts with the “better” society that we all know has plenty of flaws. What I really liked about it was the explanations of how and why the city was divided into the factions, and I really loved the idea behind the factions as well. It was great that this story started with a look at one faction and then moved to another one, giving us insight into the different lifestyles and the mindset of the characters.

At one point I did wonder how the whole Divergent aspect fits in and when it would make it’s début but Roth built the story so well, she managed to create a climax that brought in the element of Divergence in a great way and an ending that both ends and leaves an opening, while leaving us with some interesting questions. Really the only reason I didn’t give this book the full 5 stars was that the voice of this book was a wee bit puerile for me, but with a story and characters this great it really didn’t bother me too much. I’m so excited to read the next one, find out where the mysteries go and see how it all ends.

Leave a Reply

