Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones

Charley Davidson #5

17906188What it’s About:

Charley’s life just got a little more intense, the sexy son of Satan has moved in next door and given Charley a key. The problem is, he’s the main suspect in her arson case, and she’s vowed to stay away from him until she can find out the truth. But when a lot of lost, confused and silent women appear in her apartment Charley has no choice but to ask for Reyes’ help, especially when she suspects that her own sister, Gemma, is the serial killer’s next target. But Reyes’s help comes at a price, he wants Charley – committed to him, body and soul.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

Whoever is in charge of making sure I don’t do stupid shit is fired.

I’m happily giving this book

5 very enthusiastic stars, but then again how could I not? When you have a heroin as kick-ass as Charley, a hero as sexy and bad-ass as Reyes, and plenty of quirky comments that have you spewing juice from your nose, it’s hard not to love this book.

Charley was amazing as always and I really loved getting to see more of her and Reyes together. The sex definitely picks up nicely in this book, their relationship started off so tentatively in t

he first book and I love how Jones has grown and progressed their relationship in each book.
Charley’s quirky comebacks have become oxygen to me and with every hysterical thing she says I find myself desperate for more. I loved the fact that she just had to name everything and ended up driving my man crazy calling my body parts men’s names.

“I named this ingenious invention George and decided to leave my own shower, Hector, for him.”

I love how no matter what situation Charley finds herself in, she always has something funny to say. It brings a lightness to the story, as opposed to a dark depression, which these kinds of crimes can become.

“It would take a miracle to solve this case. Luckily, I believed in miracles. No, wait, that was testicles. I believe in testicles. We were so screwed.”

Darynda Jones is a storytelling genius! There’s no other way to describe her. In each book she gives you several cases and storylines to keep you on the edge of your seat, and still each one has it’s own depth and twists. I’m amazed at how well she manages to keep each story interesting and makes sure that we don’t get confused or lost in all the info.

What I really loved about this one was the way she brought in the missing girls. Having them hanging off the ceiling and in her shower brought this creepiness to the book that I really enjoyed. I liked the mystery behind the women and really enjoyed discovering what the deal was with the woman in the scrubs.

In each book Jones takes you on an emotional rollercoaster, but in this one she really took it to another level. In one instance you can be creeped out by the ghostly girls, in the next you feel love and passion, and then you want to kill Swopes for being stupid. Then in the end it all comes together and you can’t wait to feel it all again.

This series has stolen my heart and I cannot WAIT for the next one.

Leave a Reply

