Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones

13411684Charley Davidson #4

What it’s about:

The Grim Reaper is back and this time Charley finds herself experiencing something she never has before – Fear. After the gory events of one night with Earl Walker, Charley has locked herself in her home, she searches every corner and can’t seem to shake the fear that has taken a hold of her. But when a case walks out the shadows Charley finally pries herself out the house and faces the world. The only problem is the world is full of demons, crazy fathers and the sexy son of Satan himself, Reyes Farrow.

What I though:

My Rating: 4 Stars

“Drink coffee! Do stupid things faster and with more energy!”

The world of Charley Davidson is a fantastical mix of mystery and witty comebacks, every storyline keeps you on the edge of your seat and I find it so very hard to put these books down – damn you work and sleep for making me do so.

This book took on a slightly different tone from the others as Charley is struggling with PTSD after being tortured. She’s slightly more tame in this book in the beginning but as the story progresses she finds a good balance. I really like the way Jones makes you live everything the characters do, when Charley feels helpless and despondent you feel that way. I laughed my ass off at the fact that Charley has to name everything in her life and I love the way Jones uses that to create hysterical situations and dialogue.

“Now I’d have to outrun both of them with Barbara oozing out of Fred”

The characters really develop well in this series and I loved how we got to see a whole lot more of Reyes in this book. It’s the first time we get to see Reyes and Charley together is the flesh. I kinda like the way he’s aggressive with her, one minute their in the throws of passion and the next he’s pinning her to a wall by her throat. His character is so complex and while he’s this massive supernatural being, I love that Jones shows you that he was affected by Walker’s abuse, that he does have a human side.

The investigation into Harper’s life was well written, I didn’t see any of the twists coming (especially the big one at the end) and I actually feel the need to read it again, knowing the truth, so that I can see if there are any hits that I missed.

The one thing that bothered me a tiny bit about this book was Swopes and Charley’s obviously psychotic father. I was really hoping that Swopes would be all enlightened about Charley now, that they would be the best of friends but I do understand why he reacts the way he does. still I would have liked to see a bit more of him. As for crazy ass papa Davidson, WTF? That man needs a serious talking to, preferably in a padded room. If I was Charley I would tell him to shove his office up his ass and piss off – but that’s me.

All in all another great addition to a fantastic series. I cannot wait to find out what happens in the next one.

Leave a Reply

