Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones

11717388Charley Davidson #2

What it’s about:

When Cookie’s friend Mimi goes missing she asks Charley (at an ungodly hour in the morning) to help find her, but  they soon realise that the case is not quite as open and shut as they anticipate. Now Charley needs to find Mimi, solve the case of the dead guy in Cookie’s trunk or she’ll never have a hot shower again, and find the body of the man she love Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally.) But Reyes isn’t going to make it easy because he can’t let that happen, his body will lead the demons to Charley and if the demons get to Charley, they’ll have a portal to heaven. And if they have a portal to heaven…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be pretty.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“This is one Fruit Loop beyond certifiable.” 

This series is funny, clever and keeps you on the edge of your seat, I just couldn’t put this one down. Being in the world of Charley Davidson is exciting and fun. I really enjoyed every page and as this series progresses I find myself loving the mysteries Charley has to solve, even more than her quick tongue and sassy attitude.

I really enjoy how the characters progress in this series, it’s not often I read a series where the some lead character is in all the books, but with this one I find myself loving Charley more and more. We seem to learn something new about her in every book and while one mystery is solved another pops up. I really enjoy Charley’s mishaps and the situations she get herself into, they really make the book fun and keep you laughing the whole time. I also like her interactions with the dead, if some homeless dude stood in my shower staring at me the whole time I would need some serious therapy (maybe some meds and a padded room too) but Charley gets all sarcastic and witty.

I find myself falling in love with Reyes as the books go on. There’s something so dark and mysterious, yet sweet about him. My heart hurts for him when I think about all he did for Charley and how his life was supposed to turn out (though as the books go on I’m starting to think that life would never have happened for him).

Cookie is becoming a favourite of mine, I really love how accepting she is of all Charley’s crazy and how she sticks up for her. I laughed my ass off when she got all pissy with Ubie and Swopes about lying to Charley, she’s just a spitfire ready to defend her friend and that’s the best kind of girl.

The only frustrating thing for me about this book is the relationship between Charley and Reyes. Frankly I’m on Reyse’s side on this one, Charley needs to learn to trust him, not that I would want the love of my life killing his corporeal body either but I think Reyes knows what he’s doing. It all drove me a bit crazy and the ending had my heart hurting a little for the both of them. Thank goodness I have the next book ready to go because I would die if I had to wait to find out what’s going to happen next and how Charley and Reyes will get out of this mess.

I really enjoy the mysteries in this series, Charley’s investigations keep me on the edge of my seat (all 100 of them because God forbid she work on case at a time). I also think it’s really clever how Jones brings in the title at the end of the books, it’s almost like the title is the destination of the mystery and it’s so very clever. I can’t wait to see what mess Charley gets herself into next.

Leave a Reply

