First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

11357769Charley Davidson #1

What it’s about:  

Private investigator Charlotte Davidson has a rather odd job title – Grim Reaper. Since the age of five, she’s been helping the departed solve the mysteries of their deaths so they can cross over. Now three lawyers from the same law firm have been murdered, and they need her help to find their killer. Sounds easy? But with it being “kill Charley Davidson” week, things aren’t going as smoothly as they should. Not to mention the hot man in her hot dreams who might just need her help too.

What I thought:

My Rating: 5 Stars

“I like to see the glass as half full, hopefully of Jack Daniels.”

This is the first book in what I’m guessing is going to be a kick-ass series. The world is something completely original, no vampires falling in love or shifters fighting for Alpha position, just a sassy PI with a talent for helping the dead.

Charley Davidson is my hero! And it’s not just the kick-ass name, with a spunky attitude and enough sarcasm to fill the Orange River, Charley is a heroin you can’t help but love. She’s a funny well rounded character who sucks you in and makes you want to be her friend. I really loved her attitude and the way she wasn’t afraid to speak her (quirky) mind. I really enjoyed her interactions with Cookie and Swopes, who are also really amazing characters. Cookie made me laugh out loud a lot and Swopes’ rollercoaster emotions made for a very interesting dynamic.

All the side characters were so well thought out and had a real dimension to them, with every one you meet you instantly get a thought-out background and feel as if you know the character already.

Reyes is such an incredibly well written character. Jones manages to make him hot and spooky at the same time. I really enjoyed the way we got snippets of who and what he is as the story progressed, it drove me crazy because I was salivating to know what was going on, which just enhanced his character. Despite his ominous nature I found myself falling for him, desperate to help him and ready to pull him to me and never let go.

Jones has created a world that captivates you, she keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time and while you made many guesses as to what was happening, it is in no way predictable. I loved every minute of it and couldn’t put it down. Now I MUST read the next one.

Leave a Reply

