Before Jamaica Lane by Samantha Young

17766752“I’m going to let you keep that smug look on your face. You earned it.”

What it’s about:

Despite her outgoing demeanor, Olivia is painfully insecure around the opposite sex. But moving to Edinburgh has given her a new start, and after she develops a crush on a sexy postgrad, she decides it’s time to push past her fears and go after what she wants. Luckily her best friend Nate Sawyer, a gorgeous player who never commits, is as loyal as they come. So when Olivia turns to him with her relationship woes, he offers to instruct her in the art of flirting and to help her become more sexually confident. But a friendly education in seduction, soon grows into an intense and hot romance that both of them need to accept – before they lose more than their friendship.

What I thought:

Not surprisingly Young has done it again, I LOVED this book! The second book in this series was a little disappointing but I really, really loved this one. The characters were so well written and the storyline had me captivated from page one.

I loved Liv, she was a very different character for me because she’s strong and independent yet in dire need of help socially. I liked her quirky sense of human and the way people constantly called her ‘weird’. She is strange and it just makes her all that more entertaining.

“It’s a manwhore miracle – Liv”

Nate is just the perfect man, there really is no other way to describe him – well except for the manwhore part. He’s funny and sexy, I loved how protective he is of his friends and how he insists on watching out for Liv (even when they were just friends). And how Liv defended Nate’s manwhore ways to everyone.

I loved the banter between Liv and Nate, all the weird ‘would your rather’conversations they have and the movie comments. It brought a depth to their relationship that connects you to the chatacters like nothing else.

It was great to see all the old favourites as well and Castle Hill from a different perspective. I really liked the introduction to Hannah’s book, it’s made me all that more eager to read the next one.

Overall, this book is well written with great characters, a captivating srtoryline and plenty of laughs. It’s by far my favourite in the series and I mourn that it’s a whole 6 months till I can read the next one. I will miss this world.

Leave a Reply

