Wait For You by J. Lynn (A.K.A. Jennifer L. Armentrout)

17314430What it’s about:

Avery Morgansten has moved to the other side of the country to get away from the home that hates her. Now all she wants to do is make it to class on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and make a few friends. What she didn’t expect was to meet Cam, the one person who might just discover all her secrets… the one person she might just want to discover them.

What I thought:

“As long as the sun’s shining, shit can’t be that bad.”

From the moment I picked up this book I was gone. I couldn’t put it down and almost read the entire thing in one sitting (damn you work!). I was immediately sucked into the life of Avery and her broken world.

I liked Avery, her character was well written and realistic, I can understand her reactions and why she didn’t want to integrate into the social scene. I really loved her interactions with her friends and Cam. Their banter was hysterical and brought a fun, lightness to the story. Cam is just amazing! He makes you swoon and everything he says has you either laughing out load or ready to take your clothes off. He’s the kind of guy every girl wants and Lynn makes sure you remember that.

The story was well built and even though there’s an element of predictability, there’s still some mystery in it. I think Lynn presented the ‘trauma’ tactfully and wasn’t insensitive or aggressive about how it all happened. She told us the details without making you feel sick (well to a point, I mean it’s a horrific subject matter). But what I really loved about the story is the way Lyyn presents the mystery behind what happened to Avery. As you read you can gather what happened, but then Avery says something that completely throws you off  and you start doubting what you think happened. Then in the end you realise it was just way worse than you could have imagined.

While this story is no different to most the New-Adult books out there, the story telling was captivating and the characters made my whole body react, from Cam making me swoon to Molly making me so angry I was ready to give her a beat down.

One thought on “Wait For You by J. Lynn (A.K.A. Jennifer L. Armentrout)

  1. Pingback: Stay with Me by J.Lynn | Bookmark This!

Leave a Reply

