Then Came You by Lisa Kleypas

114170Gamblers #1

What It’s About:

Lily Lawson has a secret that has made her reckless and hate men. Without a care for her reputation she delights in shocking proper London society and breaking any rule to flaunt her independence. Now her sister is being forced into an undesirable marriage to the ruthless Alex Raiford, the arrogant Earl of Wolverton. She decides to help her sister get out of the marriage but Alex has some secrets of his own and both of them are about to find out that, when the whole truth is out, hate can turn into love.

What I thought:

It’s been a while since I read a Historical Romance and I had been desperate to read something from this genre, so naturally I had to pick up something from Kleypas – and I really wasn’t disappointed!

I LOVED this book, I just couldn’t put it down. I was draw to the way these to characters had a real hatred for one another and yet needed each other so much. Lily is an incredible character, she’s strong and feminine all at the same time. I loved that she rebelled against the society norms for women and managed to get the men to accept it. I really liked the way she talked back to men and stood up for herself. Alex is an enigma for me. He is this amazing man who loves so strongly and yet there is this real violent and aggressive side to him. I found the way he was with Lily fascinating and really couldn’t work out if I liked him or not.

What also amazed me about this book was the way the sex was hot and yet a little uncomfortable (not in a bad way). Alex is quite a bit aggressive with Lily and their first sexual moment comes out of a weird place and yet ended with so much passion and love.

I didn’t love Lily’s parents and even though I’m super excited to read the next book, I have to say Craven wasn’t the most attractive character. But I did enjoy the other side characters. The Butler was so amazing and you can’t help but love Alex’s little brother.

I can see myself getting lost in this series and once again Kleypas has made me eager to take the journey.

Leave a Reply

