The ‘Losing It’ Series by Cora Carmack

Last month I discovered a great book on a fellow Blogger’s page and decided to give it a try. The result was a month long reading fest where I finished the entire series to date and just couldn’t put them down. I wanted to wait till I read all 3 and a half books before I did my review so here it is…

Book 1: Losing It 16034964

Yes, it’s exactly what you think it’s about!

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed. Then the awkward keeps coming when she arrives at class of her last college semester, and finds that the ‘naked in her bed’ guy… is her new teacher.

What I Thought: 

“He was flabbergasted. That was the best word. His flabber had been thoroughly gasted.”

Doesn’t that line just say it all? I really loved this book, it gave me the “Just one more chapter” syndrome and I really had trouble putting it down. It’s a fun and quirky read that kept me hooked from page one. Carmack manages to take a story that could have been quite boring and turned it into something well worth reading.

I love all the characters in this book. Bliss was hysterical and someone you really would like to be friends with. I was in stitches every time she said something, I loved the way her brain just froze and hysterical gibberish came out. Garrick is SUPER hot and had me reminiscing about Bones from the Night Huntress series. I liked that he was trying to be the good guy, but would lose it every now and then and just grab Bliss no matter where they were.

If you’re in the mood for something light and fun, this book is a great choice!

Book 1.5: Keeping Her (short story)

18073659This was a really cute short. I enjoyed getting Garrick’s POV and seeing how him and Bliss faired after Losing It. I also liked that this story jumped between Bliss and Garrick’s POV, it allowed us to get real insight into the characters as you get to see how they each think about a situation and why they react the way they do.

Book 2: Faking It

16172634

No, it’s not what you think it’s about.

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

 

 

 
What I Thought: 

“We should live like we smoke — inhale the present and exhale the past.”

I really love this series! Carmack has managed to create characters and story lines that keep you hooked… and laughing… and crying the whole way through.

Max and Cade are definitely some of my favourite characters ever. Max is strong and bold, and doesn’t take crap from anyone… well except her family. I loved how she held her own with the guys and her banter with Cade. Cade is just damn HOT! He’s funny and really cares about the people around him. I liked how he went toe-to-toe with Max and even said things that he knew would drive her crazy.

I really enjoyed the way this book was written, the way the chapters alternated between Cade and Max’s POV was awesome, I love getting both sides in books like this.

I couldn’t put this one down, and enjoyed every laugh, every wise crack statement and every sexually frustrating moment.

Book 3: Finding It

16172638What it’s about:

Most girls would kill to spend months travelling around Europe after college graduation with no responsibility, no parents, and no-limit credit cards. Kelsey Summers is no exception. She’s having the time of her life . . . or that’s what she keeps telling herself. Then Hunt walks into her world and Kelsey begins to open up and let all her fears and secrets out, but Hunt’s are the ones that might just break her forever.

What I thought: 

“I’ll be good. I promise. Unless you want me to be bad, of course.”

This series has been an awesome, fun read for me. I love the story lines and the characters of all the books, and I enjoyed this one’s slightly different storyline. Where the other books were quirky and light, this one had a bit of a sadder undertone. Kelsey is strong and charismatic but her past has made her tainted and sacred. I loved the way she found herself over the course of the book and that her reactions were realistic.

Hunt has to be one of my favourite guys from this series. He’s hot and exciting with a strength that you feel radiating through the page. I liked that he broke down Kelsey’s walls through action and passion, though I have to admit I got a little board with their worldly excursions.

I can’t get angry at Kelsey for not seeing the big secret coming, because when you look at it from her perspective it wasn’t that obvious, but I did find the story a bit predictable. I also would have liked a little bit more from the ending.

Having said all of that I did really enjoy reading this book and I cannot wait to read Seeking Her.

 

Leave a Reply

