Into the Deep by Samantha Young

“From the moment we’d met, he’d dragged me into the deep, swearing to me he was in there with me. It was a lie. He’d waded back out to the shallows and left me to drown.”

17970255What It’s About:

When Charley Redford was just 16 she fell in love with Jake Caplin, the new kid who made her feel like she was the most amazing person alive. Then when a tragic even tears them apart, Charley is left to pick up the pieces of her heart. Almost 4 years later, Charley is doing a year abroad in Scotland and comes face to face with the boy who broke her heart… and his girlfriend. Now Charley and Jake have to navigate their lives as their friends get close and old feelings get stronger and stronger.

What I thought:

Samantha Young has done it again! She’s created a story that takes a hold of you and never lets go. Into the Deep is so captivating and emotional that I just couldn’t put it down. I read till my eyes went squint… and then I took a minute to relax and started again.

I really loved everything about this book. The characters drew me in and the then and now of the chapters had me on the edge of my seat, desperate to find out what happened and was going to happen next. I fell head-over-heels for Jake with Charley, and then felt the heart-wrenching betrayal as he let her go.

Jake is just such an amazing character because you get to see this charming guy who is completely cocky fall apart as he meets and then loses the girl he loves. I really like the realistic way Jake reacted to situations, he didn’t become this unrealistic dream guy and yet he was. Charley is one of my favourite heroines right now. I would generally not give her that title because there is no action in this book but I really found her to be just awesome enough for it. I loved her cockeyness and smart-ass remarks. I liked the way she managed to be strong and endearing even when her heart was being ripped apart.

The other characters in the book were great too and I found myself rooting for Lowe just a little bit more with every page. I think he would make a great boyfriend to some lucky girl and secretly I kinda wished he would have ended up with Charley. The relationship between Beck and Claud was tangible and I really like that their story played out a bit in this book, I’m excited to read the next one and see where their relationship goes.

Overall this book is just freaken amazing! The story is so well written and told in such a way that you become captivated and completely addicted to these characters lives. I loved every page and once again take my hat off to Young for creating a story worth talking about!

Leave a Reply

