R.I.P.D – It’s Men in Black… with death

Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Jeff Bridges Kevin Bacon and Mary-Louise Parker

Synopsis: A cop gets killed by his own partner after he decides to turn in the gold they took from a crime scene. When the heavens open up and he’s sucked in, he ends up not quite where he expects. For his crimes while alive, he has to join a team of undead police officers working for the Rest in Peace Department. While getting his bearings with the world of the undead he tries to find the man who murdered him.

What I thought:

This weekend we had some time to relax and watch a movie so we decided to watch something fun. I saw the trailer for R.I.P.D a while ago and my first reaction was, “This is a Men In Black rip-off”. So, of course, I just had to see it. The general feeling about the movie I got from others was that it was terrible, but that never stops me, so I went in with no expectations and, surprisingly, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The idea is pretty much the same as Men In Black except in this one they hunt the undead and not aliens. It’s was really obvious that the relationship and characters were mirrored off Smith and Jones’ characters in MIB. They had the same ‘old vs young’ dialogue and the same kind of conversations, though where Smith brings in his personality in MIB, Reynolds brings in his in this one – which I really liked.

The special effects were good and some of the characters were entertaining. Though I didn’t love Jeff Bridges’ character that much. He was a bit annoying and at times I didn’t really understand what he was saying. Personally I didn’t think he was that good, from the acting perspective in it.

Overall it had some really funny parts and was generally just a fun, entertaining movie. It’s not going to win any Oscars, but if you’re a Ryan Reynolds fan (like me) and enjoy his quirky style, you’ll enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P.D – It’s Men in Black… with death

  1. Good review Shiran. I agree with you, it’s nothing special at all. However, at the time that it was out, I gave it a very low rental, knowing that it was better than other crap that came out that weekend.

Leave a Reply

