Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

6482837“The whole point of growing up is learning to stay on the laughing side.”

What It’s About:

Before I Fall is, in a nutshell, the story of Samantha Kingston’s death. Sam wakes up on a normal Friday morning, doing normal things, but by the end of the day Sam is dead. Nothing dramatic, no murder, no insane event, just a simple car accident. But when she wakes up and finds herself reliving her final day, she thinks it was all a dream. Then she dies again and wakes up living the same day again and she begins to wonder what is going on. Reliving her last day 7 times Sam learns the long kept secrets and discovers herself in the process.

What I Thought:

Lauren Oliver is an amazing talent, she has the ability to write complete, full characters that really learn and grow. Even her supporting characters grow in this book, and some of them are so strong they grab a hold of you and don’t let go.

I fell in love with Kent from the moment we meet him, he is a person who deliberately stands out in a school full of conformists and stereotypes. He’s not popular but still has the confidence to let Sam (who is one of the most popular girls in school) know how he feels about her. He’s cheeky and knows who he is.

When I started this book I found Sam to be a flat annoying character but having read Delirium I knew if I carried on it would keep getting better, and I wasn’t disappointed. I enjoyed the progression of the story and found that each character Sam interacts with interesting. Even though Before I Fall has an emotional storyline it is definitely lighter than you would think.

Leave a Reply

