Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Warning: This book contains moments of extreme emotional intensity and shocking secrets!

11768487What It’s About:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister, Penryn will do anything to get her back, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Recommended for ages 16 and up.

What I thought:

Rating: ★★★★

When I first read the synopsis of this book I wasn’t very interested in reading it. In fact, it was the cover that caught my attention, but the story sounded a little boring to me. Then I took a look at the reviews and I was shocked, I had never seen a book get so many good reviews before, so I decided to give it a try.

My opinion? I think everyone was a little too enthusiastic about this book. Why then, do you ask, did I give this book 4 stars? Well, because of the ending, and it turned out to be a pretty good book. I was enjoying it for the first 60% but it wasn’t anything too special and then it hit something so dark and terrifying I couldn’t stop reading!

Penryn is going on my list of awesome Heroines! She is tough and smart. You have got to love a girl that will take on a man twice her size and came out of it the winner – the beaten up winner, but still the winner. I liked that she was able to take care of herself and even though she cared about what happened to her mother, she didn’t let her pull her down or keep her from doing what she had to do. I also liked that she had a strategic mind. She tried to gather as much info from Raffe and Obi that she could, but still managed to use it to her advantage, never betraying either of them.

I LOVE Raffe, dark, dangerous and strong, but still witty and caring. He has many secrets and only gives Penryn the info that he wants, but you can almost see the moment he starts to have feeling for her. I liked that he kept trying to protect Penryn and that in the end he laid his soul bare. Ever though the romance was a bit lacking.

This book is very graphic and dark, and has some scenes in it that will make your stomach churn. I will forever have the image in my head of two little girls hanging from a tree with half their bodies eaten off… I have to also state that there is forbidden love and then there is forbidden love where your offspring will be man eating monsters, might be a bit hard to overcome that one! Having said that, the book still has moments that made me laugh out loud and in the end I was taken for an emotional rollercoaster ride that is still sitting in my stomach.

The story was a bit slow for the first 60% even though it starts off with some action but in the end the ending grabbed me enough that I want to read the next one and see where it all goes.

Leave a Reply

