Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Image“How can something so wrong feel so right?” – Forbidden

What it’s about: (via Goodreads)

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

What I thought:

When I first read the synopsis for this book I was a little skeptical about reading it, don’t get me wrong I like to think of myself as an open-minder person but incest is not something light and happy. Normally I don’t think I would have rushed to read something like this but some friends recommended it and spoke very highly of it, so I was eager to give it a try. I knew this book would be extremely emotional when starting it and I wasn’t wrong.

The agonizing love between a brother and sister is one thing but the Earth shattering heartbreak that is this book is something so much more. The love that Lochan and Maya share is a true love and one that we all love to read about, and that is what makes this book so brilliant. While you strongly disapprove of the love that these two siblings share, and even feel wrong reading about it, what really got me was that the love was so intense you secretly want them to end up together… so badly. You wait for that moment when they take it to the next level on baited breath and you have to keep reminding yourself that they are brother and sister to stop screaming for them to just kiss, hold hands, touch!

The book was exquisitely written with amazing detail and insight into two very unique characters. I enjoyed the switch between Lochan and Maya’s POV and I found myself excited to get to the next chapter and read about the other characters reaction, thoughts and emotions. I also found myself having high school flashbacks of hating meddling teachers who don’t seems to care about what’s happening to a student on a personal level. This book pulls you’re emotions in all directions and when you start thinking about it all, you don’t really know what you would do in that situation.

In a book like this there is no happy ending, and even though it’s horrible, I’m happy that it lived up to that emotional turmoil, because I would have hated it if Suzuma had gone for the happy, Hollywood ending.

Leave a Reply

