Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

wb“He was wooing me. And I was letting him woo. I wanted the woo. I deserved the woo. I needed the wow that would surely follow the woo, but for now, the woo? It was whoa.” – Caroline

What it’s  about: (via Goodreads)

Caroline Reynolds has a fantastic new apartment in San Francisco, a KitchenAid mixer, and no O (and we’re not talking Oprah here, folks). She has a flourishing design career, an office overlooking the bay, a killer zucchini bread recipe, and no O. She has Clive (the best cat ever), great friends, a great rack, and no O.

Adding insult to O-less, since her move, she has an oversexed neighbor with the loudest late-night wallbanging she’s ever heard. Each moan, spank, and–was that a meow?–punctuates the fact that not only is she losing sleep, she still has, yep, you guessed it, no O.

Enter Simon Parker. (No, really, Simon, please enter.) When the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. Their late-night hallway encounter has, well, mixed results. Ahem. With walls this thin, the tension’s gonna be thick…

In her third novel, Alice Clayton returns to dish her trademark mix of silly and steamy. Banter, barbs, and strutting pussycats, plus the sexiest apple pie ever made, are dunked in a hot tub and set against the gorgeous San Francisco skyline in this hot and hilarious tale of exasperation at first sight.

What I thought:

“Now you listen here, mister,” I said, trying for a more adult tone. “I’m not going to spend every night listening to you try to crash you girl’s head through my wall with the force of your dick alone!” – Caroline (Wallbanger)

Wallbanger is a tantalizing story of two people who share a very thin wall. One, a woman in desperate need of a good O’ing and the other, a man who has no problem giggling, meowing (yes an actual meow) and spanking an O out of his nightly visitors.

I really loved this story, it was well written, funny and captivating. Simon is the perfect wet dream and his banter flirting had me fanning myself after every encounter. I liked Caroline, she has a sassy way about her and was damn funny with her quirky thoughts and conversations with Clive.

One thing was sure though, if Clayton’s goal was to make me ridiculously frustrated and desperate for something to happen… she succeeded! The flirting between Simon and Caroline was electric and you could almost feel the sexual tension ooze off the page. Unfortunately for me it was a tad bit of an anti-climax, not because when they finally got there is wasn’t good, but because the last chapter was painfully boring 😦 I felt like she built this great funny story up and then just ran out of steam when they finally got together.

But overall this book was great! I really did laugh out load and fell in love with the characters, so it get’s a solid 4 stars from me.

Leave a Reply

