Defiance the TV series

In the world of Sci-fi there are many chances to create a cult following like Star Trek or Battlestar Galactica, and then there are even more chances to ruin the genre all together. But as an addicted sci-fi watcher I just have to check them all out for myself. So when I saw the trailer for Defiance I couldn’t wait to watch it.

The series is set in the near future, where aliens known collectively as Votans have come to Earth seeking a new home after their solar system was destroyed. However, when they reached Earth, they discovered despite a prolonged negotiation with the government on Earth, they were not welcome. Rather than turn away, they began a war with the humans as they are determined to make Earth their new home. During the war, the Votans dropped terraformers on the planet and transformed the surface; scorching the earth, opening chasms in the ground and covering the surface of the planet in dust and debris. After decades of war, a ceasefire is declared when both sides realise they must focus on survival on this new almost alien planet.

What I think:
I LOVE this series! Really, once I started watching, I just couldn’t stop. There are only 13 episodes in the first series but they are all action packed, with great characters and a soundtrack to keep you firmly in this new world.

The main character is played by Grant Bowler, he plays the character really well, though I think Nathan Fillion would have been perfect for the role (then again I am a huge Firefly and Castle fan)

The series has the feel of Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica, with strange Alien beings and different languages. I really enjoy the fact that they don’t all speak English and that they swear in a new language.

If you’re a sci-fi fan and love all things new world, definitely check this one out!

2 thoughts on “Defiance the TV series

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back later in life. I want to encourage one to continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

