Upside Down

Directed by: Juan Solanas
Starring: Kirsten Dunst, Jim Sturgess and Timothy Spall

What it’s about:
Adam and Eden fell in love as teens despite the fact that they live on twinned worlds with gravities that pull in opposite directions. Ten years after a forced separation, Adam sets out on a dangerous quest to reconnect with his love.

What I thought:
So I’m not the biggest Kirsten Dunst fan, in fact I can’t stand her, but I love movies and she does have some movies where she isn’t too intolerable. So when I saw the trailer for this movie, my excitement over the most awesome of ideas (the upside down world thing) over ruled my dislike of Dunst. So I jumped at the chance to watch this the other night, hoping to be transported to a new world. What I got was the supermodel of movies – amazing to look at but no personality.

The special effects were AMAZING, really the colours were captivating and the concept of people walking upside down was so well done. Everything about the cinematography was seamless and fantastical, they even managed to make it seem plausible to the point were, in one scene, Sturgess’s character was in his opposite side and his clothes were fighting to get back the right way up.

Unfortunately the storyline was totally lacking. My hope that Dunst would have one of her, rare, good days was shattered in the first scene and it didn’t get any better. The problem isn’t that it’s a love story, the problem was that the love story was boring. It completely lacked any passion and I felt like the characters kept whispering to one another. Sturgress wasn’t memorable in his role either, I thought he was fantastic is Across the Universe, which is one of my favourite movies, so that was a bit disappointing as well.

Overall if you appreciate amazing cinematography and special effects, and can live without the entertainment side, definitely check it out. But if you’re someone looking for a fun romance or a captivating story… don’t even bother.

One thought on “Upside Down

  1. Pingback: Movie Review: UPSIDE DOWN (2013) | Frisco Kid TX

Leave a Reply

