The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

ImageThe first book in Cassandra Clare’s series The Mortal Instruments is being turned into a movie – releasing next month. The Infernal Devices is the prequel series to that one, and the talk of the town is that, depending on the reception City of Bones gets, we could be seeing an Infernal Devices movie coming out too. So to get everyone ready for the next (we really hope) great movie adaptation, here’s my review of the Infernal Devices series.

What the books are about:

Orphan Tessa Gray crosses the ocean from New York to find her brother Nate in Victorian London, her only possession a clockwork angel necklace from her mother. She is ignorant of her power to transform; the Dark sisters are not. They kidnap her for the Magister, who wants to marry Tessa and claim her power. Shadowhunters, warriors of angel blood, battle demons and keep the peace in the Downworld of vampires, warlocks and other supernaturals. Orphan teen Shadowhunters Jem, Will, and Jess rescue Tessa and agree to help save Nate. Along the way a huge secret starts to build and love blooms… in the most devastating way.

What I thought:

Book one: Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Angel is the first book in the Infernal Devices series and proved to be another fantastic story by Cassandra Clare. I absolutely loved this book, I have always love stories set in the 1800s, the way they talk and the lifestyle they live, so I enjoyed this more than The Mortal Instruments. The character of Will kept me excited to see what he would say next and Tessa is a strong female character, in a world where women are not allowed to have power. Clare creates fantastic characters and an amazing world and I can’t wait to see what the next book reveals.

Book Two: Clockwork Prince

Holy sweet mother of all that is amazing in the world, this book is incredible!

I still have goosebumps from reading this book, I still have the remnants of tears in my eyes and I feel as if I have lost a piece of my soul now that it is over. I have read many books with love triangles in them and I have always had my favourite or been annoyed by it but in this book I was amazed by the intensity of my feelings. I am equally in LOVE with both Jem and Will and after the heart wrenching events of this book I feel the need to take them both into my arms and hold on till the world ends. I have envied many female characters over the years but I don’t envy poor Tessa… I would never be able to choose and my heart is still sore for her and Will.

The story just gets better and better and all I want is to know the secrets surrounding Tessa. Clare has built a world of magic and politics that makes you wish it was all real and even though some things I guessed in the end, it was only because she left a trail of breadcrumbs for me to follow to that conclusion. As always she has left it on a cliffhanger that made me jump up and scream like a crazy person in protest to it all ending.

I laughed, I cried and I fell in love… twice.

Book Three: Clockwork Princess

This quote from the book describes this book so well…
“You know that feeling,” she said, “when you are reading a book, and you know that it is going to be a tragedy; you can feel the cold and darkness coming, see the net drawing tight around the characters who live and breathe on the pages. But you are tied to the story as if being dragged behind a carriage and you cannot let go or turn the course aside.”

It’s hard to review a book like this because every time I think about it I want to cry. Clockwork Princess is the final installment in the sensational Infernal Devices series, and what a finale it was. I have said from the start that I love this series more than her Mortal Instruments series and anyone who reads this book will understand why.

Staring this book I was dying to find out what would happen between Tessa and Jem/ Will, what the big secret about Tessa is and how they would be able to defeat a true evil master. All these questions were answered and more in this book. We find out who Tessa ends up with and how their lives are lived out, we also discover what the true motive was for the Infernal Devices and how they are finally defeated.

I really loved every minute of this book, from the first page to the last, but for me the Epilogue was the ultimate chapter in the book. I cried like a baby and felt so many emotions I didn’t think I would be able to sleep. Normally I’m not one for happy endings in certain books, I think that a more real scenario (though more heartbreaking) is so much better. But the HEA in this book was not happy and yet still happy.

There where so many “holy shit” moments in this book where people looked at me and asked, with real concern, “what happened?” (because the look of shock on my face was so extreme). There were a few moments that I really didn’t see things coming and then even the ones I did where still shocking.

Clare does a fantastic job with the side stories as well. You find yourself rooting for Gabriel and Gideon. Smacking Gabriel in your head for being such an idiot and wanting to shake some sense into Gideon when he opens his mouth to Sophie. Sophie became one of my favourite characters and I found myself ready to do anything for Charlotte.

These books make me wish I was a Shadowhunter living in the 19th century. The extreme love that is felt in this book, whether the love of two people or the love of brothers, was something so amazing and I find myself wishing I could see more of their lives. Overall I was very happy with this story, it had plenty of action, romance and suspense. I loved every minute of it and cannot wait to see what Clare does next.

4 thoughts on “The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Angel Volume One – A Spoiler Free Review | Yoku's Review a Day -- Cook Another

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare (The Infernal Devices book 1) | 'Ow am yau?

Leave a Reply

