The Host

From the moment I saw the cover of the book The Host I knew I just had to read it. But at the time I decided to leave it for another time. Then Twilight got my attention and I discovered that I really love Meyer’s writing style. So when I put two and two together I realised I REALLY had to read it. So I did… Then I read it again… And again… And again! I would happily say it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. Then it was announced that a movie would be made and my excitement level went through the roof.

I think they did a really good job with this movie, all things considered. I mean, the majority of the book took place in Mel’s head, and I was always interested in how they were going to play that out. The casting of Ian wasn’t what I expected (but I guess Jensen Ackles would be too old :p) but Saoirse Ronan is the perfect Mel/Wanda! Really she did the most fantastic job – too bad she didn’t play Bella, then maybe the Twilight movies wouldn’t have suck so much.

I was a bit disappointed with some of the stuff they left out, but just because I would have loved to see them come to life. I do think that you can enjoy the movie if you haven’t read the book but it will make things a lot clearer.

If you’re a sci-fi fan who loves a good romance, I would definitely recommend The Host! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The Host

Leave a Reply

