Walking Disaster

A couple of days ago I posted my review for one of the greatest books I’ve ever read – Beautiful Disaster! All the BD fans out there know that Jamie McGuire recently released the follow up of BD. Walking Disaster is the same story but from Travis Maddox’s POV. As an avid reader I love the concept of reading the same story but from another character’s POV, so I just couldn’t wait to read it. In my opinion if I can convince one person to read a BD or WD I’ve changed the world, and that’s my goal today, so here’s my review. Enjoy! 🙂

Image

“One of these days you’re going to fall in love, son. Don’t settle for just anyone. Choose the girl that doesn’t come easy; the one you have to fight for, and then never stop fighting. Never”

Well what can I say? I LOVED it! But then I didn’t expect anything less. I have read so many books in my life where I wish I could read it from another characters POV and finally being able to do it was even more than I could have asked for. I can proudly say I am completely addicted to BD, to the point where I recommend it to anyone who will listen, so it was a no brainer for me to read this one and see how everything played out from Travis’s POV.

Being in Travis’s head was no walk in the park, the guy has some serious issues and can be very obsessive, but getting a glimpse of his childhood really put his personality into perspective. He is the opposite of what everyone thinks, he’s not incapable of love, on the contrary, he loves so extremely that shutting out emotion was the best state for him to be in. I really enjoyed getting to know him better and the chance to understand him fully.

As would be expected, I found myself on Travis’s side at all times in this book and strangely, at some points I wanted to kill America. I got a bit annoyed with her attacks on him and how she never allowed herself to see his side. Which was really interesting because in BD you get the sense that she sticks up for him more.

I really enjoyed the interaction between Sheply and Travis in this book. It was great to see the behind the scenes of what happened when Abby and America weren’t there. It was also great to be more involved in the lives of the Maddox boys, seeing more family moments and really meeting the brothers and dad this time around made everything different.

I know it sounds strange but I started to dislike Abby a bit in this book. Don’t get me wrong I know she’s the same girl and I know her POV, but for some reason I found her reactions to be very girly at times. From Travis’s perspective you actually feel his anger and annoyance with her and that sits with you even though you know her POV.

What was also very interesting was that from Travis’s POV you started to see how much of Abby’s life revolves around gambling. I think from her POV you don’t get that feel because she doesn’t see it in herself, but it’s there. The way she thinks and reacts is a direct result of her “gambling” personality and I really have to take my hat off to McGuire for so brilliantly writing her characters… from both POV’s.

If I were to be completely honest I think I enjoyed this book a little more than BD (just a little more). Like it’s counterpart, it was captivating from page one and I cannot wait to see what McGuire comes up with next!

One thought on “Walking Disaster

  1. Pingback: Walking Disaster by Jaime McGuire | reading past my bedtime

Leave a Reply

